It’s the end of the month and I’m still on the fence about canceling Play! or not. The July box was okay, but not that thrilling.


 
The July 2017 theme was Beauty Staycation. Everyone was supposed to receive a face mask in this box. I received the Ren Evercalm Ultra Comforting Rescue Mask. I like the fact that this is a very gentle mask, you only have to use for a small amount of time (up to 10 minutes), and it is okay to use more than once a week (it’s not too thick nor it dries out). But I’m still not convinced to buy full size.

The box also included a hair mask: Madame C.J. Walker deep conditioning masque. The scent is very nice, but I didn’t have patience to leave it on for 15 minutes. I left it on my hair for around 5 minutes. The result was okay, my hair as softer after air drying. They suggest to apply heat with a hair dryer for deeper conditioning. I will try that next week.

The fragrance sample was Viktor & Rolf Bonbon. It is a sweet fragrance – nothing I would use everyday, but I could still totally use this in special occasions. The box also included a facial moisturizer: Perricone MD face finishing moisturizer. It’s a thick moisturizer, but very rich. It helps prepping the skin for other layers. I was not a fan of the scent, but, other than that, it was okay. I was curious to try something from this brand and now I did.

Finally, the box also included an IT Cosmetics Superhero mascara (this one I still haven’t tried since I already have so many opened mascaras right now), and a Clinique Chubby Stick lip balm (i received this exact same product and shade a couple weeks ago with a Macys order, so I will probably pass this sample along to a friend; it is very moisturizing though, a great lightly colored lip balm).

Overall, it was a good box, with some new items and brands to me. My problem is that I already subscribed to Macy’s Beauty Box, and I don’t really need to keep two beauty boxes at the same time. So I’m on the fence about canceling this. Any thoughts on that?

Leave a Reply

