Recently, Sephora offered a limited edition of Sephora Play! This was only available for Rouge members (a very friendly and helpful Rouge member placed the order for me).

The cost: $20
The contents: they announced that the box would have 6 items.
What I liked about this box was the opportunity to try higher end / luxury brands. These are items I wouldn’t normally buy, so everything would be kind of new to me. And I really liked it. The box came with one skincare item, three makeup items, and two fragrances.
The La Mer cream is the skincare item. The sample is small, but the product is very pricey, so there’s a lot of value on the small sample. I really liked the cream and I can totally understand why it is so expensive. It really does wonders to your skin. But after the sample runs out I will probably stick to the facial moisturizers I already use.
In terms of makeup, the box came with Guerlain gold primer, Burberry mascara, and YSL lipstick. I really liked the primer infused with gold. It really preps the skin to receive makeup, while also adding some illumination. I was not really a fan of the formula on the Burberry mascara, but is not bad either. It’s okay for an everyday look. The YSL lipstick has a scary bright pink color, but it doesn’t look that bad on the lips. It’s actually a nice dark pink tone. I liked it.
As for the fragrances included, I like the fact that they are both deluxe samples, and not the usual small vial. The Dior Poison Girl bottle is very cute, and my favorite fragrance between the two. The Tom Ford one is too strong for me, and I really didn’t like it, but it came in a cute little rollerball bottle.
Overall, I’m pretty impressed with this box. Everything was new to me. If Sephora turned this into a subscription, I would definitely change from the regular Play! to this one. I just with this would be available for BI or VIB, and not only for Rouge members.

Leave a Reply

