You know you have a sample overload when, one month later, you realize you still haven’t tried any of the items in the April 2017 Target Beauty Box. In April, Target offered two beauty boxes. I bought only one, depicted below.

I bought this box because it was only $7, but I shouldn’t. I have so many beauty samples and products right now that it will probably take me at least one year to run out of any beauty product at all. But I went ahead and bought it, so here’s my review of (some of) the items.

The HASK hair mask has a nice citrus scent. Despite being a packette, it comes with 50g of product, which should be good for about 4 uses (considering my hair length). I used it once and transferred the rest of the contents to a spare tub I had at home. Even though I didn’t had the patience to wait for 25 minutes, my hair was very soft after using for only 2 minutes. Next time I will try to be patient and wait some more time. If you are interested, it is possible to buy just the packette to try, for around $2.99.

Another item I tried and liked a lot is the La Roche Posay cleanser. The formula is very gentle and it did a good job cleansing my face. If it weren’t for the current sample overload, I would probably consider buying a full size. But I have so many facial cleanser samples that I think it would be better to run through them before even thinking about buying some more.

I also tried the Rimmel white eyeliner. The thing is, I’m not very good at applying eyeliner, and the white one is very visible so you can’t apply it wrong. My first experience applying it was terrible. The second time I did a little bit better – and I actually liked the effect of the white eyeliner in my under eye line (not so much in the eyelid). I will experiment with more looks on the summer.

I didn’t try the other items yet, but I am sure they will be very helpful in the near future, especially the double duty nail product from Sally Hansen, or the Banana Boat sunscreen. I usually don’t have patience for baths, but the Dr Teals foaming bath looks promising for whenever I have the time for it.

Overall, I think this was a nice box, and probably very helpful for anyone that doesn’t have a sample overload like me. I’ll be skipping the next months, at least until I can go through half of my current stack of products.

Leave a Reply

