After they skipped a month (there was no box on November 2016), I had high expectations with the January 2017 Serendipity by LLB. The box was actually nice, but I expected more, especially after receiving a damaged product.

The cost: 12.99 every other month (I purchased 1 year subscription when it was 9.99 per box)

Differently from previous months, this box only had 4 products. But one of the products I received was damaged in transit, so I ended up with only 3 products total. The damaged product was actually the one I was more interested in trying – the face wash. I tried to reach out to their customer service, and even though they said they would send a replacement (and a replacement order was created), they never actually sent it. So I have mixed feelings about this. I know that the product may have gotten damaged thanks to how the package was handled by the post office, but they said they would send me a replacement. And that’s why I got even more frustrated when no replacement came. I love this subscription box, but this situation may affect my willingness to renew it when the time to do so comes (I still have 3 more shipments to come).

But anyway, I ended up with other 3 nice items, that totally makes up for the price of the box, so I’m okay with that. Besides the very promising face wash that I never got to try (only got to smell it and clean up the mess), my next favorite product is the hand wash by Beekman 1802. It has a heavy rose scent (not exactly a fan, but don’t hate either), but the formula is great. It feels great to the hand, so we can practically forget about the smell. My second (or third) most favorite item was the expandable flower vase. I really liked how practical it is – you can store it folded, and then just add water when you need to use it. And it looks great as well. My least favorite item – not because the item itself, but because the color – was the shoe laces. All my athletic shoes are either dark grey and or purple, and the red shoe laces would look terrible with them. But I still can give it as a gift to a friend, so it is not completely lost. Red is a very usable color (compared to the neon green some people received). I just was not lucky with the color considering what I currently own.

Overall, I think it would be a great box if I had all 4 items, and, for me, it was a just okay box with 3 items. I will reach out to their customer service again, just in case. I still hope I can get a replacement for that nice face wash. (And I will update the post if I get it).

 

Update: I finally received the replacement for the face wash on March 1st. It took a little while, but they were very kind to actually send something to replace the damaged bottle. I ended up receiving the other version, the grapefruit face wash, which is great too.

Leave a Reply

